Texas is about to join the exclusive club of constitutional carry states. On Monday, the state Senate passed the final version of HB 1927. Soon as Governor Greg Abbott fulfills his pledge to sign it, the Lone Star State will enjoy unprecedented rights to bear arms.
According to Senator Charles Schwertner (R), HB 1927 rolls back restrictions imposed on Texans’ Second Amendment rights.
Once it goes into effect, residents aged 21 years and older can now carry a firearm, whether open or concealed, without the need for a permit.
Also, certain restrictions apply to this right. This includes whether or not the person has no previous violations of the law.
“HB 1927 would recognize the United States Constitution as our permit to carry and allow all law-abiding adults, aged 21 years or older, to carry a handgun for the protection of themselves or their families, in public places, in a holster, without the requirement of a state-issued license,” Schwertner told the media.
Constitutional Carry Doesn’t Change Who Can Possess A Firearm
Proponents of the law stressed that it’s important to note that constitutional carry doesn’t change the legality of firearm ownership.
All the requirements for purchasing a firearm remain intact. This also includes buying only from a Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL) and getting a background check.
Once signed into law, Texas joins 20 other states that already enacted permitless carry. The Lone Star State will join Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
Abbott Ready To Sign The Bill Into Law
Texas Governor Greg Abbott previously indicated his strong support for the bill. Earlier this week, he tweeted he’s ready to sign. “Constitutional carry is moving in the #txlege.
The strongest Second Amendment legislation in Texas history. Let’s get it to my desk for signing #2A #SecondAmendment,” he posted.
HB 1927’s sponsor, Representative Matt Schaefer (R), said that the governor could sign the bill as early as this week. “He did tell me personally he will sign it once we send it to his desk,” Schaefer told the media earlier Tuesday.
The bill previously passed the House, but when the Senate passed it, they added some amendments. Consequently, the bill had to go back to the House for a second approval which includes the changes.
Afterward, the Senate had to vote on it one more time, which happened yesterday. Currently, the bill is heading to Governor Greg Abbott’s desk.
Changes To The Bill
The changes to the bill include “keep[ing] intact a number of changes the Senate made to the House bill to assuage concerns from the law enforcement community, including striking a provision that would have barred officers from questioning people based only on their possession of a handgun,” the Texas Tribune reported.
“The deal also preserves a Senate amendment enhancing the criminal penalties for felons and family violence offenders caught carrying.
Among other Senate changes that survived was a requirement that the Texas Department of Public Safety offers a free online course on gun safety,” it added.
Watch the Associated Press Video reporting that Texas is poised to become the next constitutional carry state in the United States:
Do you support constitutional carry? Does your state also enforce your second amendment rights?
Let us know what you think of Texas’ decision to join the group of constitutional carry states. Share your comments below.