Starting on Sept. 16, Florida will begin issuing schools, businesses, and government agencies that mandate for people to show proof that they got vaccinated against COVID-19 with a $5,000 fine.
Per the Orlando Sentinel, Taryn Fenske, Gov. Ron DeSantis’ spokesperson, said on Wednesday, “Promises made, promises kept.
The report added that, according to a statement from the governor’s office, the fines are not applicable to cruise lines due to a federal court order that temporarily blocks the enforcement of laws in that industry
In an email to the Orlando Sentinel, dated Aug. 24, press secretary Christina Pushaw said “We believe the ruling will be overturned upon appeal, and we are confident in the legal basis for Florida’s vaccine passport ban.”
Meanwhile, Agriculture Commissioner Nikkie Fried, the only statewide elected Democrat in Florida, remains critical of the move.
In an email to the newspaper, he said: “Governor DeSantis is retaliating against Floridians who are trying to protect themselves and their communities from COVID-19. This not only goes against common sense — it’s also an insult to the free market principles that he claims to champion.”
Update From The Editor: Sleepy Joe Biden Urges Americans to Mask Indoors as Omicron Variant Looms
If found to have violated this new rule, violators will receive a notification and will have the right to appeal it. If the appeal fails, however, they will be given 30 days to pay the fine.