A mandatory 14-day quarantine will be required for all visitors and returning residents to Hawaii. This is what the state’s governor called an “extreme action” on Saturday in order to limit the spread of the coronavirus.
According to Hawaii Gov. David Ige, the majority of the state’s COVID-19 cases so far are linked to travel. The state announced 11 new cases of coronavirus, bringing its total to 48 as of Sunday.
“These actions are extreme, but they will help flatten the curve and lay the groundwork for a quicker recovery,” Ige said Saturday. “We need everyone to comply with these quarantine orders to help protect Hawaii’s residents.”
Fox News reported that Ige’s order, “which goes into effect at 12:01 a.m. on Thursday, will only apply to incoming flights that are coming from out of state. Inter-island travel will not be affected.”
Coronavirus spurs Hawaii to take 'extreme action,' quarantine all arrivals to the state for 14 dayshttps://t.co/5dxhrZhVEe
— pmatons (@pmatons) March 22, 2020
Returning residents must quarantine themselves at their own homes, while visitors must quarantine themselves in their hotel rooms or rented lodging.
Those under quarantine may only leave their homes for medical emergencies or to seek medical care, and those under the 14-day quarantine cannot visit public spaces.
“You may leave your designated quarantine for medical emergencies or to seek medical care,” Hawaii Emergency Management Agency Director Kenneth Hara said. “If the traveler becomes ill with a fever or cough they are to continue to stay in their designated quarantine location and avoid contact with others.”
KHON2 reported that “the HI-EMA Director says that travelers will have to fill out a mandatory agricultural form prior to landing and get their information verified, such as where they will be staying and their phone number. Those forms will be collected.” This is to keep track of all incoming travelers.
According to the governor’s office, failure to follow the order is a misdemeanor and punishable by a maximum fine of $5,000, or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both.